VLOG: 5 ways to wear a white button down

DSCN2461

ON WEDNESDAY’S WE VLOG. And unfortunately this means that my milkmaid braid game was not on point after deteriorating after several quick changes during a “hot” day of 50 degrees. Seriously, I was working up a sweat changing in and out of these clothes

My latest vlog was a lookbook of sorts. I wanted to both challenge myself and challenge my viewers to try and wear there staples a new way. I’ve only ever worn one of those five outfits before. The rest I came up with the morning of this video. I haven’t been shopping in literally four or five months, yet I just made four new outfits! 

It’s doable, folks. 

I proceeded to take several blurry mirror selfies to show you all the full look. Sorry. I know they suck, but my roommate wasn’t home to bother, so I had to make do with a camera and a messy bedroom.

Underneath each photo are the items I’m wearing or similar ones that you can purchase.

I also forgot to take a photo of the first look because I’m a certified dummy… but it’s basically just American Eagle jeans (also featured in look 5) and a white button down that I purchased at Banana Republic.  

DSCN2486

2. Look Two: This one is what I image to be a work-appropriate look. It’s serious-borderline-nerdy which I kind of dig. I love the culotte trend, so I always try to wear this pair from Zara that I bought this fall.

1. Drapey Zip Blazer: Nordstrom; $54

2. Burgundy Culotte: Miss Selfridge; $61

3. Rex Black Suede Wedge Booties: Shop Reflection; $39.99

DSCN2469

3. Look Three: This look is my favorite out of all of them. I think it goes perfect with the braids and is a sweet and trendy look great for any spring time activity. I love it for brunch or frolicking around the city. It’s a total frolicking look.

1. Cutout-Black Trapeze Dress: Forever 21; $24.90

2. Rex Black Suede Wedge Booties: Shop Reflection; $39.99

DSCN2481

4. Look Four: I imagine this look for a nice dinner or night out. By night out, I don’t mean a dive bar, but maybe some fancy lounge, if you’re into that. Maxi skirts are probably not relevant anymore, but I just find them to be great for styling.

1. White Leather-look Zip Biker Jacket: River Island; $120

2. White Mark Women’s Solid Olive Green Maxi Skirt: eBay; $16.99

3. Cole Haan Booties; Bloomingdales; $348

DSCN2476

5. Look Five: This look is the one I’ve worn A LOT. I wear button downs with sweaters atop of them constantly. I have so many long-sleeve, silk collared shirts from “winters” in Florida, that I needed to transcribe for real winter. That’s why I shared piling sweaters on top. It makes the sweater more formal and the button down more casual making for a perfect balance.

1. James Perse Sweatshirt- Vintage: Bloomingdales; $110

2. Nike Roshe Run Sneaker: Nordstrom; $75

4 thoughts on “VLOG: 5 ways to wear a white button down

Leave a comment